In the weeks 28-31 we are closed due to the summer holidays. Have a nice summer!

+47 62 82 88 28 | |


Name + age + where you come from:

  • Espen
  • 48 years old
  • Hof in Solør

How long have you worked at Norske Backer:

  • It will be 20 years now, November 28th.

What position do you have and what do you do at work:

  • Sales engineer - electrical manager
  • I am a customer manager – take requests and calculate offers. On the electrical side, I am a designer, so I draw circuit diagrams and create production documents for control cabinets. It is both drawing and ordering of goods.

What do you like about the job – do you enjoy it?

  • I really like that we get to take responsibility, that you get to do it the way you want. We are not being micromanaged.
  • Yes.

How did you find and get a job here?

  • I worked as an electrician at Kirkenær. And then I had my first meeting with Norske Backer, because we had a customer, the sheriff even, who had a heating battery that was broken. So, then I traveled to Norske Backer in Langeland, I had never heard of Norske Backer before. This was probably the spring of 1999. I was well received with this case. I had just applied to an electrical engineering vocational school and was told that this was the perfect match for what they needed here. I applied for an advertised position, but I didn't get it. It was in February 2004. I received a phone call from the boss in October or November of the same year that another opportunity had arisen and that he had taken care of the application. At the time I was at work in Oslo, so I stopped by and bought a shirt on the way home. After the interview, I think the shirt was so stiff and uncomfortable, and it turned out that the piece of cardboard that keeps the collar straight was still on.

What education/background do you have:

  • I have three years of upper secondary education in electrical engineering, and a vocational certificate as an electrical fitter gr. L. Also, two years of technical vocational school afterwards, in electricity.
  • Worked at Grue Elektro from 1995 through an apprentice contract, until I got my vocational certificate in 1997. Then I joined the military the day after I passed the vocational test. I continued to work at Grue Elektro afterwards until I started vocational school, and during all holidays after this. Afterwards I started working at Hol Elektro in Oslo from August 2001. I was there until I joined Norske Backer in 2004.

What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies?

  • We have been doing a lot of dog and hunting training lately. Have three boys, so I have been driving them around all the time, but this has calmed down now that they have grown a bit bigger.


  • How many countries have you visited?
    • 18 countries
  • What is your favorite fruit? Favorite dish?
    • It must be orange. Homemade pizza.
  • Do you sing in the shower? In the car?
    • No. Yes, but not when Trond is driving with me.
  • What do you listen to in the car? Music, podcast, radio, nothing?
    • It is music, podcast or radio. When there are more of us in the car, it's usually quiet. If I'm going to drive far alone, an audiobook is great.